Roman Numerals

LI: to learn how to recognize and use roman numerals in maths by expanding our understanding of ancient numbers.

Roman numerals are how Romans said or recognized numbers in ancient history and this system is still being used to this day. The characters used in the Roman numeral system are I, V, X, L, C, D and M and they eat consist of a certain value that the Romans use to tell numbers.

I represents 1, V represents 5, X represents 10, L represents 50, C represents 100, D represents 500 and M represents 1000. When smaller values are put before characters with larger values, we subtract. When larger values are put before characters with smaller values, we add.

I enjoyed this maths lesson because I learnt how to recognize and understand Roman numerals that I can use during maths and number knowledge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *